About the Society for Germanic Linguistics


The Society for Germanic Linguistics (SGL), founded in 1968, is the largest and most active organization in North America to serve the broad community of scholars teaching and researching in Germanic Linguistics and Philology. The international membership of the SGL embraces all areas of and approaches to Germanic linguistics and philology, from formal syntax and phonology through historical linguistics to textual editing.


The Society represents scholars investigating languages such as Modern German, Dutch, Yiddish, the Scandinavian languages, Afrikaans, Pennsylvania German, English before 1500, and Gothic, as well as texts and manuscripts in these languages. The Society publishes the Journal of Germanic Linguistics (JGL), which appears quarterly. The international Germanic Linguistics Annual Conference (GLAC) is held each spring under the auspices of the Society.



Officers and Executive Committee for 2023


President, David Fertig (2022-2024)

Vice-President, Michael Putnam (2021-2023)

Secretary, Mary Grantham O'Brien (2023-2025)

Treasurer, Carlee Arnett (2023-2025)


Executive Committee


Christopher Sapp (2023-2025)

Dorian Roehrs (2023-2025)

Nick Henry (2021-2023)

Carrie Jackson (2021-2023)

Laura Catharine Smith (2022-2024)

Joshua Bousquette (2022-2024)




Chair, JGL Editorial Committee (ex officio)

Tracy Alan Hall


The Bylaws of the Society for Germanic Linguistics, as last amended and ratified by the membership on April 30, 2021.





© 2019 Society for Germanic Linguistics